Premier League stars shortlisted for Ballon d’Or

Premier League stars shortlisted for Ballon d’Or

Six Premier League players have been named on FIFA’s 30-man shortlist for the 2017 Ballon d’Or award.

Usual suspects Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have been joined by a host of top players, who have been a cut above the rest of the world throughout the year.

Liverpool stars Philippe Coutinho and Sadio Mane are joined on the list by Tottenham striker Harry Kane, Chelsea forward Eden Hazard and midfielder N’Golo Kante, Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea and Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne.

Real Madrid forward Ronaldo won the award last year, beating Barcelona’s Lionel Messi – another win this year for the Portuguese would mean that he has won the award on five occasions, equalling the amount of times Messi has taken home the prize.

Of course, with no player other than Messi and Ronaldo winning the award since 2007, it will be very difficult for any of our six Premier League stars to take home the prize. But it is still a great honour to be nominated nonetheless.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund and Gabon), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid and France), Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan and Italy), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus and Italy), Edinson Cavani (Paris St-Germain and Uruguay) Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool and Brazil), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium), David de Gea (Manchester United and Spain), Paulo Dybala (Juventus and Argentina), Edin Dzeko (Roma and Bosnia-Herzegovina), Radamel Falcao (Monaco and Colombia), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid and France), Eden Hazard (Chelsea and Belgium), Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich and Germany), Isco (Real Madrid and Spain), Harry Kane (Tottenham and England), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea and France), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid and Germany), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland), Sadio Mane (Liverpool and Senegal), Marcelo (Real Madrid and Brazil), Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain and France), Dries Mertens (Napoli and Belgium), Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina) Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia), Neymar (Paris St-Germain and Brazil), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid and Slovenia), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid and Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid and Portugal), Luis Suarez (Barcelona and Uruguay).