THREE Liverpool Stars Nominated For The PFA Fans’ Player Of The Year: VOTE NOW

THREE Liverpool Stars Nominated For The PFA Fans’ Player Of The Year: VOTE NOW

Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane have all been nominated for the PFA Fans’ Player of the Year award.

The Reds trio have been named alongside Manchester City pair Kevin De Bruyne and Raheem Sterling, as well as Leicester’s Jamie Vardy, on the six-man shortlist for the prize.

No players from Manchester United were considered, with the likes of Bruno Fernandes, Marcus Rashford and Anthony Martial having been deemed to have not done enough to warrant a look-in among the nominees.

It’s a similar story for Chelsea, with the likes Willian, Mason Mount and Christian Pulisic having been overlooked. Perhaps the most surprising omission, though, is Arsenal captain Pierre Emerick Aubameyeang whose 22 league goals weren’t enough to get him a place on the list.

In terms of the Liverpool players, though, it’s interesting that Jordan Henderson’s name was not considered, particularly as he has already been handed the Football Writers Association award. Even so, the three Reds stars who did make it onto the shortlist are all deserving of the accolade.

Mane Nominee

Mane, in particular, has been extremely influential in securing Liverpool’s first league title in thirty years. The 18 league goals he scored doesn’t fully do justice to how important he was in securing some vital wins. His most memorable moment of the season was that last gasp header against Aston Villa, which sealed a 2-1 victory.

Trent’s inclusion is also not a surprise. The 21-year-old continues to amaze with his contributions in the final third, improving on his tally of league assists, having bagged an incredible 13 during the 2019/20 campaign.

Van Dijk has also had another extremely consistent year and although the buzz around him has dissipated since he picked up the PFA Player of the Year last season, his levels have not dropped. and he was integral as the Reds ended with the best defensive record in the Premier League.

As this is the Fans Player of the Year award, every supporter can have their say on who wins. You can vote for your favourite by heading here to nominate this year’s winner!